Grosspeter Baufeld C

Competition 2019, new construction of the office- and administrative building Grosspeterstrasse, Basel, 4th place

Energy standard

 

Contract type / Realisation

Competition 2019 /

Building typology

Office- and adminisrative building

Contractor

 

Project description

In accordance with the Grosspeter development plan, all buildings are situated between the historical Grosspeter-Strasse and the newly planned Grosspeter Park. The building volumes form two of a kind well-proportioned inner courtyards in the spaces in between. This basic urban design is taken over and further clarified by the project on “Baufeld C”.

The historical Grosspeter-Strasse with its main entrance remains as the address of the building on “Baufeld C”. This is a quality we owe to the function of a European principle city, as given here in Basel with its beautiful streets.

The redesigned up to the railways Grosspeter Park serves, on the one hand, as a functional traffic connection for the new buildings, and on the other hand, as a park with a pleasant atmosphere. The bistro with outdoor sitting area is oriented to the south. This results to an attractive revival of the garden side of the building.

The inner courtyards will be developed into quiet, slightly landscaped patios. This is achieved by the open and light façade design, but also by the use of the ground floor together with recreation areas.

The development plan defines the building volumes, which may be deviated from justified cases, as long as the forms and volumes are maintained in their basic features.

Grosspeter Baufeld C

Wettbewerb 2019 Ersatzneubau Büro- und Verwaltungsgebäude Grosspeterstrasse 18/20, Basel, 4. Rang

Projektbeschrieb

Alle Gebäude sind entsprechend dem Bebauungsplan Grosspeter zwischen der historischen Grosspeter-Strasse und der neu angelegten Parkanlage-Grosspeter eingespannt. Die Bauvolumen bilden paarweise in den Zwischenräumen wohlproportionierte Innenhöfe. Diese städtebauliche Grundanlage wird durch das Projekt auf dem Baufeld C übernommen und weiter geklärt.

Die historische Grosspeter-Strasse bleibt mit dem Haupteingang die Adresse des Gebäudes auf dem Baufeld C. ist man einer funktionierenden europäischen Kernstadt, wie hier in Basel mit wunderschönen Strassenzügen geschuldet.

Die neu gestaltete Grosspeter-Parkanlage zu den Bahnlinien dient einerseits als funktionale Verkehrserschliessung für die Neubauten, andererseits auch als Parkanlage mit Aufenthaltsqualität. Zu dieser Südseite wird das Bistro mit Aussenplätzen orientiert. Dies führt zu einer attraktiven Belebung der Gartenseite des Gebäudes.

Die Innenhöfe werden zu ruhigen, leicht begrünten Patios entwickelt. Dies geschieht durch die offene und leichte Fassadengestaltung, aber auch durch die Erdgeschossnutzung mit Aufenthaltszonen.
Der Bebauungsplan definiert die Bauvolumen, von welchen in begründeten Fällen abgewichen werden darf, solange die Formen und Volumen in ihren Grundzügen gewahrt bleiben.