NUWOG Competition for residential district, Neu-Ulm

Competition 2019, 2nd Prize

Energy standard

 

Contract type / Realisation

Competition 2019 / 

Building typology

Residential

Contractor

NUWOG

Project description

The guidelines of the new development area “Am Ulmer Hofgut” in Neu-Ulm are decisive for the design. Clear and compact features define the four-storey residential building in the new district of Ludwigsfeld both externally and internally. The newly planned ensemble fits naturally into the modern residential area. With its direct presence in the quarter and rhythmically structured façades, it creates urban density and identity. Simple means are used to create the architectural expression of a layered tectonics: an interplay between windows and horizontal façade plaster bands of different grain sizes and colours, which emphasizes the clear structure of the building. The cantilevered balconies on each side of the residential building also refer to the theme of layering: they break through the austerity of the cube and give the façades a plastic depth.

The building block consists of 115 residential units in total. The centrally located staircase with lift provides access to four different size apartments on each floor. The compact access makes an optimal use available of the space and fulfills the barrier-free building standard. The principle of optimal use of space is continued in each apartment. The entrance areas form a solid core connecting the adjoining bathrooms and open-plan kitchens. The living area forms the inner center of the apartment: it can be extended by balconies, thus gaining space and quality. Through the living area one reaches the bedrooms, each of which has its own balcony.

Different types of apartments are developed according to the different purpose of use. The building has a depth of 12 meters. This will result in 1-, 2.5-, 3.5- and 4.5-room apartments.

The inner building structure is based on economically optimized room depths of 4.25 meters. This allows floor plans with elongated living rooms along the façade, which provide optimal lighting conditions. Each apartment is oriented on two sides, so each of them has a connection to the garden in the southwest or at the front to the garden and the neighbourhood street. In the central zone of the apartments are the bathrooms, which are ventilated by a riser zone.

Wettbewerb Wohnungsquartier Neu-Ulm

2019, Wettbewerb NUWOG, 2.Platz

Projektinformation

Die Merkmale, die der Gestaltungsplan für das Neubaugebiet «Am Ulmer Hofgut» in Neu-Ulm bestimmt, sind massgebend für den Entwurf. Klare und kompakte Züge definieren das viergeschossige Wohnhaus im neuen Stadtteil Ludwigsfeld sowohl aussen wie in der inneren Organisation. Das neu geplante Ensemble fügt sich selbstverständlich in das modern ausgerichtete Wohngebiet ein. Mit seiner direkten Präsenz an der Quartierstrasse und den rhythmisch gegliederten Fassaden schafft es urbane Dichte und Identität. Mit einfachen Mitteln entsteht der architektonische Ausdruck einer geschichteten Tektonik: Ein Zusammenspiel zwischen Fenstern und waagrechten Fassadenbänder aus Verputz unterschiedlicher Körnung und Farbe betonen die klare Struktur des Gebäudes. Auch die auskragenden Balkone an jeder Seite des Wohnhauses weisen auf das Thema der Schichtung hin: Sie durchbrechen die Strenge des Kubus’ und verleihen den Fassaden eine plastische Tiefe.

Der Baublock besteht insgesamt aus 115 Wohneinheiten. Das zentral angeordnete Treppenhaus mit Lift erschliesst auf jedem Obergeschoss vier Wohnungen unterschiedlicher Grösse. Die kompakte Erschliessung ermöglicht es, die Bewegungsfläche optimal zu nutzen und den barrierefreien Baustandard zu erfüllen. Das Prinzip der optimalen Flächenausnutzung setzt sich in jeder Wohnung fort. Die Entrée-Bereiche bilden einen festen Kern, von wo aus die angrenzenden Bäder und offen gestalteten Küchen zugänglich sind. Der Wohnbereich bildet die innere Mitte der Wohnung: Er kann durch Balkone erweitert werden und gewinnt damit an Raum und Qualität. Via Wohnraum erreicht man die Schlafräume, die je ihren eigenen Balkon haben.

Entsprechend den unterschiedlichen Nutzungsbedürfnissen werden verschiedene Wohnungstypen entwickelt. Das Gebäude hat eine Tiefe von 12 Metern. Daraus resultieren 1-, 2,5-, 3,5 und 4,5-Zimmer-Wohnungen.

Die innere Gebäudestruktur basiert auf ökonomisch optimierten Raumtiefen von 4,25 Metern. Dies ermöglicht Grundrisse mit länglichen Wohnzimmern entlang der Fassade, die optimale Lichtverhältnisse bieten. Jede Wohnung ist auf zwei Seiten ausgerichtet, sodass sie jeweils Bezug zum Garten im Südwesten oder stirnseitig zum Garten sowie zur Quartierstrasse haben. In der Mittelzone der Wohnungen befinden sich die Bäder, die via Steigzone ventiliert werden.